the death penalty – part 2

11 07 2007

Well, I received a response from one government official – some poor fellow who actually has to work during the summer.  Below is my original email that I sent the government:

Prime Minister Harper,

I started to write you in response to a horrific murder and asking you to bring back the death penalty.  Here is what I wrote:

Please re-instate the death penalty for heinous crimes involving the murder of someone.  I was horrified to hear about the murder in Medicine Hat and how Jeremy Steinke slit the throat of an 8 year old boy.  I DO NOT want to support people like this with tax money in jails.  When will common sense rule the courts?  If someone is has taken a child’s life intentionally and horribly then they no longer deserve to live. 

I do not believe in death by lethal injection – that is too quiet and passive – almost morose, the electric chair is also bizarre.  To me a fitting end would be for them to announce to the guilty person the reason that they are about to be killed and then have them

My cursor sat there blinking at me as I considered what would be a fitting way to get rid of someone who has forfeited their right to go on living – someone who has become such an offense that they should be gotten rid of.  And I couldn’t decide on what should be done.  How do you end the life of someone who deserves it?  Should they be taken in front of a firing squad?  Should they be be-headed by guillotine?  Should they be hung or dropped off a cliff?  How do you end the life of a heinous person in a way that does not belittle their horrific action?  I’m afraid I don’t know the answer to that part of the problem.  That does not negate the need to solve it.

It saddens me to write this.  But evil must be stopped in its tracks.  Please change this so that these people are removed from us.  The courts at best will put him away for a few years and then release him again.  You promised tougher legislation on criminals.  It is time to back it up.

Carl Walters

Here is my first response:

Dear Mr. Walters:

On behalf of the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your e-mail, in which you raised an issue that falls within the portfolio of the Honourable Robert Nicholson, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

Please be assured that your comments have been carefully reviewed. In view of his interest in this matter, I have taken the liberty of forwarding your e-mail to the Minister, for his information and review. I am certain that he will wish to give your views every consideration.

Thank you for writing to the Prime Minister. For more information on the Government’s initiatives, you may wish to visit the Prime Minister’s Web site, at www.pm.gc.ca.

I guess that I will wait and see if this other department has anything to say.  Don’t hold your breath – I think most of them take the summer off.  The website for the day is the one listed above for the Prime Minister of Canada‘s office.  Thanks for stopping by…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

