why not to vote Liberal…

10 09 2007

Here’s what I wrote to the Lie-beral…oh, sorry…Liberal party:

To Premier Dalton McGuinty…

Thank you for saying that you want to hear from me. I really appreciate it considering that I helped bring you into power by voting for you in the last election. Your promises and the change that you offered seemed like something that was worth getting behind and supporting.

Too bad you lied.

If I had the power I would make all politicians criminally responsible for their promises. If you make a promise during your campaign and do not follow through with it then you would be removed from power and thrown in jail. Maybe then politicians would stop lying to us just to get our vote.

I will not be voting liberal this time.

It’s too bad that Eric Hoskins, whom I respect for his work with War Child, chose to run for the liberal party. He probably could’ve joined any other party and I would’ve voted for him. Due to the lack of credibility of the Liberal party I feel I cannot vote for him – sorry Eric (my apologies for the error here – he is running for MP not MPP).

So I will keep this short and to the point. Before you start pointing out problems with other parties, I will tell you that I am not even sure how to vote. I no longer have much confidence in how Canadian politics work and am starting to wonder if the whole system is fundamentally flawed.

So make all the promises that you want – I don’t believe them. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. I give my wife a lot of credit because she didn’t believe you the first time around. I will also be sending this email on to all the prospective leaders to see if they can give me a reason to one simple question:

Why should I vote for you?

Carl …(last name, address, etc)

I have to admit that I will not be sending this to all the parties, but it will definitely go to the PCs. I received the auto-response email from the liberals, but it will be interesting to see what other responses (if any) I receive from other parties. Check back for more fun!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

