facebook applications

21 09 2007

Ok, to be true to what this blog was supposed to be about, I will look at something completely different than just all the political stuff that I’ve been carrying on about.

Today I want to talk about Facebook – in particular Facebook applications.  Facebook applications are fun, some are cool, but how many do you really need? At the time of writing this there were 4313 different applications available. 

It’s certainly a well done site – the whole Facebook thing. It’s a lot of fun and people can get seriously addicted to it. When my friend Claudia first brought it to my attention and I signed up, I too spent a lot of time on it – searching for old friends, adding stats and a few pics and even creating a group of my own – at present I have started 2 and am thrilled with those who have joined and shared my common interests.

But getting back to the point, how many applications do you need on your site? One thing that I like about my Profile page is the ablity to hide applications. By clicking on the arrow next to the title, I can hide applications without removing them. It clears the clutter without deleting the application.

My apologies to my friends that send all of these requests for Likeness, Movies, etc. and some of the other applications that are “see if you are like your friends!” types. I pretty much know what they’re like and vice versa. I also am not a big fan of how these applications default to sending them to your entire friends list and that to respond to them you need to install the application.

Sometimes I will install an app just to see what someone sent me and then uninstall it after. A few times of that gets to be annoying so I just stopped responding to some of them.

This is just how I feel about it – but it explains why I might not respond to some of these requests. I have tried to keep the clutter out of my profile page to have it more reflect things about me and things that are important to me. I have also only joined groups that are relevant to me as well.

Let me know what you think – what are your favourite applications? What are your least favourite? Or feel free to leave any general comment as well.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

