back to the political

22 09 2007

Well on Wednesday night I was channel surfing and stumbled across a provincial debate hosted by Steve Paikin.  Yawn.  Sorry, I often do that watching TV.  I have missed so many endings of films…

I came in part way through, but I thought I would watch some of it.  It really didn’t grab my attention to be honest.  I have never been a big fan of debates.  I find that they are usually just people trying to prove a point that they might or might not truly care about and politicians it seems will say anything to get voted in.  Me, skeptical?  Nah!

I was talking with a friend of mine, Stacey, who is much more of a “political animal” as she puts it.  I find her comments pretty insightful.  I told her that I didn’t think much of the debate.  As I put it:

I don’t really like debates because they don’t seem to prove much more than what I already know. McGuinty needs to go. Hampton is there for comic relief and, well, that leaves Tory.

Stacey brought up a good point though:

Debates dont usually change decided voters- and it is usually decided voters that watch these things. everyone else is looking for the 90 sec soundbyte.  So it is going to depend on what clips the MSM picks to talk about.

True.  That and the news.  I guess that’s why this year I wanted to go and hear for myself what John Tory had to say since I had the chance.  It wasn’t up to the news what I heard of that public address.  In the future, if there is an opportunity to hear first hand something that I am interested in, I will try to take advantage of that situation.  Whether it’s something at town council or some other public venue/issue.

You are reading this.  You have the choice to make a pro-active decision in your life about policy and decisions made around you.  What will you do?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

